For the civil discussion of high school softball
3 posts • Page 1 of 1
Here is situation: Runner on 3rd with 2 out and batter walks, continues to second with no throw. and rounds the bag. Pitcher now has the ball in the circle. Runner stands between bases trying to draw throw. Girl at 3rd leaves base and goes back, also trying to draw throw. In game one, umpires let that go, saying it is not a rule violation. Game two with a different set of umpires, they say that if the girl at second did not commit, she is out. These are all veteran ASA umpires. Who is correct?
go cubs go!
The runner at 3rd is out once batter- runner reaches first base and doesn't either go home or back to third not there so can't rule on it. If the runner on 3rd was on the bag at the time pitcher received ball then led off she could be called out. once the ball is back to the pitcher in the circle the runner has to commit either back To bag or next base. Unless the pitcher makes a play or fakes a throw
- Postaholic (100 posts)
- Posts: 183
- Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:51 pm
- Location: Greencastle, IN
Without being there. I agree with the second set of umpires on the girl at second. With the ball in the circle she has to commit. She should be out. The runner at 3rd would have to know more about the timing of the events.
"It's Manu Manu the slender and his I'm going out and get some poi sack dance!"
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests